#RPGaDay2015 Day 4

Most Surprising Game

I’ve been role playing for 25 or 26 years now, and pretty early on we branched out from the D&D games we started with. So there aren’t a lot of ways for a game to surprise me these days. But I did recently listen to an actual play of <a href=”http://www.magpiegames.com/our-games/theplay/”&gt; Magpie Games’s The Play’s the Thing </a> .

It is a game where you play actors in a play by Shakespeare, each who wants to have the director rewrite the play so their part fits their needs better. Armed with a brief overview of the play, some key lines, the various scenes, and your memory of the play from highschool, this game creates a remarkably amusing session, which I was not expecting. A role playing game about actors playing parts in plays by Shakespeare, well, I expected it to be kind of dull pretentious navel gazing, but even though I am not in theater, I recognized the actor archetypes and the game brought the concept together really well.
So my suprising RPG is a game that was a lot more interesting than I was expecting.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

