Fire Cave Project 1 First Thoughts.

The first project I want to tackle is campaign setting construction. I’ll be working with creating something that is compatable with either the d20 system or D&D 4.0, or both. As a personal issue, I like a lot of the tools that 4.0 introduces, but the game itself isn’t my favorite. There really isn’t any reason that these things can’t be intorduced to a 3.x or other d20 system game.

The first thing to consider is exactly the sort of campaign you want to create. While I tend to like broad swath worlds with large political entities and a well spread out landscape, I want to try something a little different this time. This time I am going to work on a megadungeon campaign. Now, that doesn’t mean that I’ll be writing a rehash of Temple of Elemental Evil, a long adventure with a set plot and a series of progressive adventuring sites. Well, I do plan to offer a couple of score of progressive adventuring sites, but this is going to be a lot more sandboxy than ToEE or Undermountian. On the other hand, it will be much more limited than a real sandbox dungeon like the old Underdark setting.

It has been a fair chunk of a day since I opened my editor for this post, and I’ve decided that at least initially, this is going to be a 3.5 compatable project that will eventually be expanded to cover other rule systems.

What is the first step of creating a campaign?

Well, I think that everyone knows, without a decent name, there can be no campaign. If you can’t name things then you might as well just do nothing.

Hum. I really can’t name things at all. Fortunately, there is this wonderful invention called “Working Titles” and that is what I’ll be using for the time being.

So welcome to the Fire Cave Project.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Na Essad Review | 30 Pounds of Graph Paper

Leave a Reply

